Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Radcliffe FC app


Radcliffe FC 2018/2019 Awards

By Adam Harrison

Who was crowned Player of the Year at this seasons awards evening?

The club gathered together for an evening of celebration and entertainment as the 2019 Radcliffe FC Awards evening rolled around once again.

Saturday night saw all of the Boro players from the first team to the academies gather at the Village Hotel in Bury to see who would be crowned Player of the Season. It also gave everyone an opportunity to thank all of the people off the field who have been instrumental at the club through this season.

Before the initial proceedings two awards we’re handed out for April Player of the Month and Play-Off Final Man of the Match. Prince Haywood stepped up to collect Player of the Month before Matty Crothers was reunited with his infamous cone for Man of the Match.

Local singer Jordan Drinkwater played as dinner was served. He was joined by Striker Ben Wharton for a one off special performance like no other.

Chairman Paul Hilton started the proceedings with the first award of the evening, Clubman of the Year. Up stepped newly promoted secretary Matthew Jones. Matthew has done everything at the club from linesman to his new role as secretary.

The awards continued to flow with the Academies up next. These awards we’re handed out by former Cardiff and Wolves Manager Dave Jones.

The first award was handed to Lewis Short for top scorer of the Academy Black. Continuing with the Academy Black, Players Player was awarded to Jake Cubbins after a fine season. The coveted Player of the Year award was handed to Emmanuel Koomson.

The next set of awards we’re for the Academy Blue. The Top Scorer for the blues was Sheldon Barrington. Another trophy to add to the young man’s shelf. Players Player was awarded to Cameron Lewarne. Finally, the Academy Blue player of the season was awarded to Matty McSorland after a brilliant campaign.

It was then time for the First Team. The first award was for once again Top Scorer and up stepped Tunde Owolabi. The former Prescot man netted 26 times in all competitions along with an impressive 13 assists.

The next award was for Young Player of the Year. This was handed to the man in between the sticks Ollie Martin. Martin played all 50 games this season keeping 21 clean sheets. He also saved two penalties on the way to the award as well as a brilliant nutmeg away at Lancaster.

Players Player was awarded to Midfielder Prince Haywood. He made 33 appearances throughout the season as well as earning April Player of the Month. A brilliant season from the “non-league Kante.”

It was then time for the biggest award of the evening, Player of the Year. For the second time on the night up stepped Tunde Owolabi. An outstanding season from the forward which has seen him fill up his trophy case. This award joins his NPL Fans player of the year, NPL media team of the year and League team of the year.

Manager Jon Macken entered the stage and uttered some words about the Boro's fantastic season but he urged that it was only the start for the club.

Long standing members of the club John OB and Stewart Fell were thanked for their brilliant efforts over the years after they announced their retirement. Along with this Chairman Paul Hilton announced a brand new primary sponsor and with that three new kits for the new season.

Updated 09:48 - 22 May 2019 by Adam Harrison

Where next?

2019-2020 Pre-Season The 2019-2020 season starts right here for the Boro!
2018/19 in numbers All the Stats from the 2018/19 Campaign.


Loading comments

Get the team together and play Fantasy League

Sat 25 May
Under 12s Rockets Radcliffe town u12
Cup 2 – 4
Sat 11 May
Under 12s Rockets roach black u12
Friendly 3 – 1

News sponsors


Club sponsors